Brew Magicians Forum - BMF

A forum for Brew Magic users and those who love them. This forum is not affiliated with SABCO.
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:11 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2014 11:46 am 
Offline
Pint Glass

Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2014 7:56 pm
Posts: 65
Happy to start new topics and keep the ball rolling. But don't want to dominate discussions.

Thoughts?

_________________
Matt Chrispen
--
http://www.accidentalis.com - blog


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2014 3:22 pm 
Offline
Hydrometer Jar

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 7:53 pm
Posts: 18
New to the forum. Just picked up a BM a couple of weeks ago. It is February 2014 model, lightly used. Very happy with the deal.

Brewed my first batch last weekend. Kept it simple, 5 gallon IPA. Went very smoothly.

Now the question. How long should it have taken to heat 12 gallons in the HLT? Starting water temp was 60, air temp a little warmer. Still took more than an hour. Thought I could split the water and use the MT, too, but system will not allow. Only one burner per time. Any suggestion?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2014 7:20 pm 
Offline
Pint Glass

Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2014 7:56 pm
Posts: 65
The new system only allows one burner? I often run all three. It should support more - made for commercial purposes with concurrent mash and boils,

I also heat my strike water in the MLT and the Sparge liquor separately in the HLT. Both go full open, takes about 30-40 minutes from 70 to like 152. I ignore the heating too fast warning until I am mashing.


Matt Chrispen
Bastrop, Texas
Accidentalis.com

_________________
Matt Chrispen
--
http://www.accidentalis.com - blog


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2014 9:32 pm 
Offline
Hydrometer Jar

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 7:53 pm
Posts: 18
Had a full tank of propane, but when I fired up a second burner, pressure basically halved. Any thoughts ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2014 11:04 pm 
Offline
Pint Glass

Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2014 7:56 pm
Posts: 65
A couple of things come to mind.

Make sure you have the right regulator. I think (not positive) the system ships as low pressure propane. You might want to check with the person you purchased from. There are fittings for high-pressure I believe. Also - make sure it's not regulated for natural gas. You will want all new orifices in that case. You might be able to confirm the serial number with Sabco to ensure how it shipped.

A tip from my LP gas company is to very slowly open the valve on the tank. Mine sticks, so I open as slowly as possible, slowly close it and reopen up slowly before turning on the system and enabling gas on the computer.. There is something in the tank valve that will set the pressure outlet lower or stop it all together when opened quickly.

If the burners are not burning strong or showing a lot of soot - I would suggest taking a strong air compressor to them and blow out any soot. Then re-adjust the vents so that on partial to full open you get the pure blue flames.

_________________
Matt Chrispen
--
http://www.accidentalis.com - blog


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2014 11:59 pm 
Offline
Hydrometer Jar

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 7:53 pm
Posts: 18
Thanks, I'll let you know what I find.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2014 9:07 pm 
Offline
Hydrometer Jar

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 7:53 pm
Posts: 18
Think turning on the tank slowly sends to do the trick. That being said, did not get to run a batch. I'll post when I get another batch going.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2014 2:53 pm 
Offline
Hydrometer Jar

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 11:03 pm
Posts: 12
Hello and thanks for continuing new topics. I had a similar issue with my burners only producing a low flame. I tinkered with the regulator and swamped out tanks but still it wouldn't produce a strong flame. Eventually I figured out that if I turn the gas in at the tank a few minutes prior to enabling the gas on the BM the pressure build up seems to open the valve and I've never had an issue since. Maybe it's a bush fix but it's worked for me this far.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 3:24 pm 
Offline
Hydrometer Jar

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 7:53 pm
Posts: 18
Just a follow-up. Definitely a tank issue. Next brew went good after I played with the tank opening slowly, fast, part way, all the way, etc. Got it figured out for this tank, when I swap it out I'm sure it will be another guessing game. Thanks for the input.

I'll start the next topic.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:34 am 
Offline
Hydrometer Jar

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 11:03 pm
Posts: 12
Please do sir


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group